Way back in the 1990s I bought a compilation CD of Gospel music called ‘Rejoice – A Celebration of Classic Gospel Music’. One of the stand out tracks on the album is ‘Jesus is the Best Thing that Ever Happened to Me’ by Rev. James Cleveland. Cleveland is regarded as one of the big influences that help create the modern Gospel music sound. With this track he takes Gladys Knight’s song ‘The Best Thing that Ever Happened to Me’ and inserts a Jesus twist! The result is a powerful impassioned performance with thumping piano, full on choir and interjections seemingly from the congregation and occasionally other musicians (I think I hear the odd hammond organ and bass notes here and there). The feel and groove (with no drums) is wonderful and predominantly carried by just the piano and foot stomps.
I decided to join in on this church service and play along by adding a bass line. I’ve taken some ideas from what’s going on in the left hand of the piano and then tried to find some other of my own ideas that fit with the ebb and flow of the song.
Let’s have some church ya’ll – Jesus is the best thing that ever happened to me!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.