Bassline Academy – Bailey Master Logan Circle (2019) Sousa Cover

If you’ve never heard of a trombone shout band then get on and Google it now! That’s how I came across the video of this band’s parade on YouTube (full version here). I don’t know the name of the sousaphone player who wanders near the camera for a little while but he is amazing. What I love about the extract that I’ve transcribed is the variety of techniques and licks he uses. There’s full on sousa power blasting, tasty rhythmic ideas, swinging accented phrasing, some nice jazz enclosures, cool funky licks (I especially like what he does on the Cb chord) – it has it all. And all the while he’s on the move marching with the band. I don’t know who this guy is but he really knows what he is doing!

Here’s me playing along. I’d love to jam along in person on a parade but this will have to do for now!

You can download the PDF transcription here.

(Another thing I’ve learned from doing this video is it’s hard to fit a whole sousaphone on the screen 🤣)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.